Whether you are just starting or considering a career change into the field of massage, why not start your education in a state known for making people feel good with its feel-good food, music, and cultural arts?
Massage therapy schools in Louisiana can provide students with in-class lectures and textbook learning on massage theory, as well as hands-on practice with actual client treatment in the student clinic, where they can gain practical experience before beginning their professional careers.
Keep reading to learn more about the best massage therapy schools in Louisiana.
See Also: 15 Best Massage Therapy Schools in Connecticut
- Are there Massage Therapy Schools in Louisiana?
- How Does One Become A Massage Therapist in Louisiana?
- What are the Best Massage Therapy Schools in Louisiana?
- How Long are Massage Therapy Schools in Louisiana?
- How Much are Massage Therapy Schools in Louisiana?
- How Much Do Massage Therapists Make in Louisiana?
- Our Recommendation
Are there Massage Therapy Schools in Louisiana?
Are you determined to pursue a new career in massage therapy? In Louisiana, there are numerous massage therapy schools. Find a school that is convenient for you but also one that is concerned with your success.
Below is the list of massage therapy schools in Louisiana:
- Delgado Community College
- Blue Cliff College-Metairie
- Platt College-McCann-Monroe
- Unitech Training Academy-Lafayette
- Medical Training College
- Delta College Inc
- Louisiana Institute of Massage Therapy
- Advanced Massage Training Center
How Does One Become A Massage Therapist in Louisiana?
In Louisiana, a massage therapist begins with a high school diploma or a general educational development diploma.
Students can start their careers by taking college-prep courses in science, health, and business.
Only graduates of accredited massage therapy schools with at least 500 content hours of instruction and training are licensed by the state board.
However, the curriculum must include 325 hours of massage technique and clinical practicum-related modalities classes. Another 125 hours must be spent on anatomy and physiology.
Aside from those requirements, schools have a lot of leeway regarding the instruction they provide.
Some programs include various massage techniques, including Eastern and Western techniques.
Others concentrate on clinical therapies or spa therapies. The amount of time students spend in actual clinical settings varies by school.
A certificate or diploma allows a future practitioner to apply for a state license. Applicants who pass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination are approved by the board (MBLEx).
The Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards registers online students to take the exam at Pearson VUE testing centers.
Every year, Louisiana practitioners must contact the board to renew their licenses. They must provide proof of 12 or more hours of continuing education.
Read More-15 Best Massage Therapy Schools in South Carolina
What are the Best Massage Therapy Schools in Louisiana?
Below are the best massage therapy schools in Louisiana:
1. Delgado Community College
At its Charity School of Nursing, DCC, a public facility in New Orleans, prepares students for massage therapy diplomas.
Topics such as (MT’s) history, purpose, benefits; (and) its place in a holistic approach to wellness are covered in the program.
Also, Swedish Techniques, Sports Massage, Deep Tissue Therapy, Traditional Chinese Medicine, Business/Ethics/Law, and Topics for Special Populations are among the courses offered in the 32-credit-hour curriculum.
Students participate in three clinical rotations. Classes begin in the spring and fall semesters.
Prerequisite courses, English and math placement testing, and CPR certification are part of the college’s selective admissions policy.
2. Blue Cliff College-Metairie
This privately owned school is part of a more extensive network of schools in Louisiana, Mississippi, and Arkansas.
Massage therapy diplomas are awarded at the Metairie satellite campus in the Clearview Shopping Mall.
Students complete the required courses as well as Hydrotherapy, Therapeutic Communications, Tai Chi, First Aid/HIV, Care for Self, Medical Terminology, Integrating Deep Tissue Techniques, Reflexology, Neuromuscular Therapy, Basic Shiatsu, Subtle Body Energies, Marketing, and Community Service in 750 contact hours. Swedish, prenatal, chair, and sports massage classes are also available.
The program is nine months long for daytime students and 15 months long for evening students.
Read More: 15 Best Massage Therapy Schools in Illinois
3. Platt College-McCann-Monroe
More than 30 for-profit career training institutes are part of the Platt network across the country. The McCann School of Business & Technology is Louisiana’s only campus.
The massage therapy diploma program requires 710 contact hours, with 380 spent in classrooms listening to lectures and 330 spent in labs getting hands-on experience.
The curriculum includes three assignments totaling 120 hours, all of which involve giving massages to members of the public in a student clinic.
Also, Swedish Massage, Therapeutic Massage, Kinesiology Upper Body, Kinesiology Lower Body, Hydrotherapy & Aromatherapy, Special Populations, Somatic Psychology, and Law, Business, and Ethics are among the courses available.
4. Unitech Training Academy-Lafayette
UTA is a for-profit vocational school with campuses in Alexandria, Baton Rouge, Lafayette, Lake Charles, New Orleans, Houma, and West Monroe.
There are 66.73 quarter credit hours in the diploma program. Students can take classes during the day or in the evening.
Swedish, clinical, sports, pregnancy, deep tissue, and Eastern therapies are also taught to them.
Classes include Healthcare Provider, Medical Terminology, Kinesiology, The Art of Palpation, Specialized Patient Massage, Spa Therapy, Wellness for Mind & Body for the Therapist, Ethics & Professional Business Practices, and Introduction to Clinical Massage, in addition to the state-required coursework.
At an on-campus clinic in Lafayette, students provide full-body massages to the public.
Read More: 15 Best Massage Therapy Schools in Philadelphia
5. Medical Training College
The Massage Academy of the South, a private school in Baton Rouge, claims to have “been the standard of excellence in massage education since 1992.”
The 756-contact-hour curriculum includes 277 hours of lectures, 407 hours of labs, and 72 hours of clinics.
It takes nine months to complete full-time or 10.5 months to complete part-time. The instructors are all certified massage therapists.
Also, Swedish, sports, connective tissue, neuromuscular, reflexology, and chair techniques are taught to students.
Spa therapies such as body wraps, salt glow, paraffin and mud pack treatments, hot and cold stone massage, wet table use, and hydrotherapy are also taught.
6. Delta College Inc
This is a small College with four campuses that offers a variety of nursing and allied health programs. Delta claims to be “one of the area’s most affordable private schools.”
In the town of Covington, future massage therapists attend classes. They can pursue certificates full-time or part-time during the day or at night.
Also, the program provides 745 contact hours of instruction and training. Students can complete their studies in as little as seven months.
Classes in Covington are very hands-on, according to the school, so you get real experience with your new skills.
Read More: 15 Best Massage Therapy Schools in Oregon
7. Louisiana Institute of Massage Therapy
The Louisiana Institute of Massage Therapy (LIMT) provides students with a high-quality education they can rely on.
Massage therapists founded the Institute, which is taught by massage therapists and has been run by massage therapists since 1987.
LIMT was one of the first massage schools to be licensed by the state of Louisiana and one of the first to offer continuing education classes.
They are the Gulf Coast’s oldest continuously operating massage school. Susan Salvo, the founder, and current faculty member is regarded as a massage therapy and massage education expert.
The graduates receive a diploma, which allows them to sit for National Certification and licensing exams in Louisiana, Texas, and many other states.
8. Advanced Massage Training Center
The Advanced Massage Training Center in New Orleans provides high-level training in this school’s weekly classes, on-site seminars, and Louisiana Massage Therapy Board-approved 12-hour massage therapy CE/CEU classes.
You will learn the best possible hands-on in classes hand-picked by veteran massage educator Peter Fuller.
In New Orleans and South Louisiana, we provide advanced massage therapy training.
Allow them to demonstrate how to take your practice to the next level. AMTC takes pride in empowering Louisiana’s best massage therapists.
Also Read- 15 Best Massage Therapy Schools in Indiana
How Long are Massage Therapy Schools in Louisiana?
Massage therapists are licensed statewide by the Louisiana Board of Massage Therapy. A recent rule change eliminated the need for oral exams to obtain a professional massage therapist license.
Massage therapy schools in Louisiana must provide at least 500 hours of education, 325 of which must be dedicated to studying massage therapy techniques and clinical practice-related skills.
Furthermore, anatomy and physiology must be studied for 125 hours. To complete their massage therapy school education, students may take business practices, ethics, health, and hygiene courses.
By requiring students to attend at least 90% of the class hours in each course of instruction in massage therapy school, Louisiana ensures that students eligible for licensure are serious about their careers.
The NCBTMB, MBLEx, NCE, and the exam offered by the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine are all accepted for licensure by the Board (NCCAOM).
How Much are Massage Therapy Schools in Louisiana?
Attending a massage therapy school can cost less than a four-year university, but fees vary greatly depending on the program.
Most institutions require 500 to 1,000 hours of massage therapy instruction before students can graduate, and more intensive programs have higher tuition costs.
While considering your options, arm yourself with excellent advice on paying for your education.
The cost of enrolling in massage therapy schools varies greatly. Annual costs for some community college programs range from $5,000 to $7,000. Others will charge you up to $20,000 for a one-year course of study.
Don’t Fail To Read-15 Best Massage Therapy Schools in North Carolina
How Much Do Massage Therapists Make in Louisiana?
A yearly salary of about $19,430, or an hourly wage of more than $9.30, is typical here. This is significantly less than the national average of approximately $41,420, or nearly $20.
The top one-tenth of Louisiana massage therapists earn more than $60,000 annually, or nearly $29 per hour, but not nearly as much as their peers nationwide (almost $78,300, or more than $37.60).
Those in the state’s lowest tenth earn around $16,300, or $7.85 per hour, compared to around $21,340, or $10.25 nationally.
In 2016, this state was home to 700 practitioners. If a federal Bureau of Labor Statistics projection is correct, the figure will steadily rise to 830 by 2026.
That would be a 20% increase compared to the agency’s prediction of a 26% increase across the country.
Check Out-15 Best Massage Therapy Schools in Tennessee
Massage therapists in Louisiana are trained to apply pressure, tension, motion, or vibration to the soft tissues of the body using their hands or mechanical aids.
Massage therapy increases circulation and delivers oxygen and nutrients to the body’s tissues.
Therapy can help relieve muscle tension and pain, increase body flexibility and mobility, and help waste and chemicals that cause pain leave the tissues.
As a result of the massage therapist’s efforts, pain and stiffness in muscles and joints are relieved.
Also, Swedish massage, deep tissue massage, holistic bodywork, healing touch, and Shiatsu are all types of massage therapy.
Licensed massage therapists in Louisiana can provide their clients with body wraps, and salt glows, and many also provide hot stone massage.
I hope this article will help you in your quest to become a massage therapist in Louisiana.
Check Also-15 Best Massage Therapy Schools in Ohio
How long does it take to become a massage therapist in Louisiana?
Massage therapy schools in Louisiana must offer at least 500 hours of instruction, with 325 hours dedicated to studying massage therapy techniques and clinical practice-related skills. Anatomy and physiology must be studied for a total of 125 hours.
How do I become a massage therapist in Louisiana?
To become a licensed massage therapist in Louisiana, you must meet the educational requirements listed below, pass one of the board-approved national examinations (MBLEx, NCBTMB, NCCAOM), and apply for and pass the Louisiana Board of Massage Therapy Oral Examination.
Do you need a license to massage in Louisiana?
To work as a massage therapist in Louisiana, you must first register with the Louisiana Board of Massage Therapy. There is a $75 application fee. After registering, you must be licensed by the board. If you do not register, you work illegally and may be fined.