Lists of Universities in Abia State Nigeria, 2021-2022

Here are the lists of universities in Abia State Nigeria. We also covered lists of polytechnics in Abia State. Get to know more about Higher Institutions in Abia State Nigeria.

Lists of Higher Institutions in Abia State Nigeria, 2021-2022

There are two major universities in Abia State Nigeria and two major polytechnics in Abia State. We will also discuss here private universities in Abia State as well as private polytechnics in Abia State.

Lists of Universities in Abia State 2021

  • Abia State University, Uturu
  • Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike
  • Gregory University, Uturu
  • Rhema University
  • Spiritan University, Nneochi
  • Clifford University

Read Also

Get access to over 1000 free online courses

Lists of Polytechnics in Abia State Nigeria

  • Abia State Polytechnic, Aba
  • Temple Gate Polytechnic, Aba
  • Covenant Polytechnic, Aba

Abia State University, Uturu

Abia State University popularly known as ABSU is a state-owned university of higher learning. It was founded in 1981 in the former Imo State as Imo State University, Uturu, Okigwe. It was Built by Sam Mbakwe the then Governor of old Imo State.

Also Read: ABSU Post UTME Form 2021-2022, Past Questions and Answers

The University offers over 90 undergraduate and postgraduate courses across ten colleges. The colleges at the institution are as follows:

  • College of Agriculture
  • College of Biological and Physical Sciences
  • College of Business Administration
  • College of Education
  • College of Engineering
  • College of Environmental Studies
  • College of Law
  • College of Humanities and Social Studies
  • College of Medicine and Health Sciences

The University also has a school of Postgraduate studies and several centers and institutes such as the Centre for Entrepreneurial, Centre for Igbo Studies, Centre for Remedial Studies, Centre for Quality Assurance and Ethics, and so on.

Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike

The Michael Okpara University of Agriculture also known as MOUAU is one of the universities in Abia State Nigeria. MOUAU is a federal owned university in Abia State. The Institution is located in the well-known Agricultural Training and Research town of Umudike, about 9 kilometers from Umuahia town, the capital of Abia State. 

The university is one of the three universities of agriculture in Nigeria, the other being in Makurdi (Benue State) and Abeokuta (Ogun State).

Find out about MOUAU admission requirements

MOUAU Courses and Programmes

Also Read: MOUAU Post UTME Form 2021-2022, Past Questions and Answers

Do you want to find out the list of courses you can study at the Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike (MOUAU)? Below is the list of high-quality courses on offer at the Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike.

  • Agric business
  • Agric-extension and rural sociology
  • Agricultural and bioresources engineering
  • Agricultural economics
  • Agricultural science and education
  • Agriculture
  • Animal production
  • Biochemistry
  • Business administration
  • Chemical engineering
  • Chemistry
  • Civil engineering
  • Computer engineering
  • Computer science
  • Education and biology
  • Education and chemistry
  • Education and computer science
  • Education and integrated science
  • Education and mathematics
  • Education and physics
  • Electrical/electronics engineering
  • Environmental management and toxicology
  • Fisheries and aquatic resources management
  • Food science and technology
  • Forestry and environmental mgt
  • Home economics
  • Home economics and education
  • Hotel management and tourism
  • Human nutrition and dietetics
  • Industrial technology education
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanical engineering
  • Physics
  • Plant science and biotechnology
  • Soil science
  • Statistics
  • Veterinary medicine
  • Zoology and environmental biology

Also Read

Gregory University, Uturu

Gregory University, Uturu is one of the top private universities in Abia State Nigeria. The institution was named after Pope Gregory I. GUU was founded in the year 2012.

Gregory University, Uturu (GUU) has about eight colleges which include the following:

  • College of Medicine and Health Sciences
  • College of Law
  • College of Engineering
  • College of Agriculture
  • College of Environmental Sciences
  • College of Humanities
  • College of Natural and Applied Sciences
  • Joseph Bokai College of Social and Management Sciences

Rhema University

Rhema University is among the top private universities in Abia State Nigeria. The University started admitting students in 2014. Rhema University is a Christian university with a not so diverse student body, the University would be predominantly filled with Christian and students from the South-East and South-South ethnic groups in Nigeria.

The university offers bachelors degree courses in Sciences, Arts, Management and Social Sciences with all programs accredited by the National University Commission. Rhema University school fees vary based on the different academic programs and it goes for between N400,000 – N500,000, it provides accommodation for its students and other infrastructures like a library and good water supply etc.

Spiritan University, Nneochi

Spiritan University is a private university in Abia State Nigeria. The institution is officially accredited and/or recognized by the National Universities Commission, Nigeria.

Spiritan University, Nneochi (SUN) offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as bachelor degrees in several areas of study.

This 3 years old higher-education institution has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students’ past academic record and grades. The admission rate range is 40-50% making this Nigerian higher education organization a averagely selective institution. International students are welcome to apply for enrollment.

Clifford University

Clifford University is a private Christian co-educational Nigerian university owned and operated by the Seventh-day Adventist Church in Nigeria. The university is located in Ihie, Abia State, Nigeria. It is a part of the Seventh-day Adventist education system, the world’s second largest Christian school system.

Abia State Polytechnic, Aba

Abia State Polytechnic is located in the heart of Abia State, Aba, Nigeria. It is composed of different schools, such as the School of Science & Engineering and the School of Business Administration. The school’s colors are yellow and dark red.

Temple Gate Polytechnic, Aba

Temple Gate Polytechnic is a pioneer private Nigerian tertiary institution that is accredited by the National Board for Technical Education. The polytechnic is located in Aba, Abia State and it offers National Diploma and Higher Diploma courses in undergraduate levels.

Covenant Polytechnic, Aba

Covenant Polytechnic is a privately owned tertiary institution located at Owerrinta, Abia State Nigeria. Covenant Polytechnic currently has seven departments which are; Secretarial Studies, Business Administration, Accountancy, Public Administration, Computer Science, Office Technology and Management and Financial Studies. The Polytechnic offers Two (2) types of programme, the Regular and Part-Time programmes.

Please Share this to Family and Friends
You May Also Like