Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2021/2022 for Developing Countries

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2020-2021 for Developing Countries

The commonwealth shared scholarships in 2020 for developing countries is now accepting applications from interested students. The scholarship award is a fully-funded one that supports students with the cost of tuition fees (at the overseas rate), return airfares, and other allowances.

Is Commonwealth Shared Scholarship for 2020/2021 Ongoing?

No, the commonwealth shared scholarships 2020/2021 is not currently ongoing. We will provide you with updated information when the application starts. Don’t worry, you can find out more about the scholarship eligibility and how to apply for the commonwealth shared scholarships 2020/2021.

What is Commonwealth Shared Scholarship?


The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is a joint initiative of the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (funded by the Department for International Development (DFID) and UK Universities) to fund scholarships for students from Commonwealth developing countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the United Kingdom.

The purpose of this plan is to help students from Commonwealth developing countries who have an excellent academic level but who, for financial reasons, could not afford to study in the United Kingdom. This program allows them to benefit from postgraduate studies at a UK university that will help them contribute to the development of their home country.

Scholarships are only intended for master’s programs, subjects must be related to the economic, social and technological development of the candidate’s country.

Is IELTS Requirement for Commonwealth Scholarship?

The CSC does not require any candidates to take an IELTS (English language) test. You should note, however, that, as a further condition of your scholarship, you may be required by your university to provide evidence of a particular level of English language proficiency.

What You Need to Know About Commonwealth Shared Scholarship 2020/2020

Level/Fields of Study

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship scheme is for taught Master’s courses only. All courses undertaken must be demonstrably relevant to the economic, social or technological development of the candidate’s home country.

Also, get access to our undergraduate scholarships for international students.

Host Country

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship scheme will be taken in any commonwealth universities in the United Kingdom.

Don’t ever forget that the entire team of Academic Related have you at heart and will always provide you with latest and updated information on scholarships, study abroad programs, free online schools, etc.

Eligible Countries

The following countries are eligible to apply of this scholarship award,

Bangladesh, Cameroon, Eswatini, The Gambia, Ghana, Guyana, India, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia.

Nevertheless, if your country is not among the eligible countries listed, don’t panic there are numerous international scholarships for international students to study in any country of choice.

You can check this our heavily recommended post How to Study Abroad for Free in 2020-2021

What does commonwealth shared scholarship cover?

Scholarship Benefits

The CSC funds the cost of tuition fees (at overseas rate), return airfares, and other allowances. Participating universities are required to support the student stipend for the award holder (at the rate set by the UK government).

Scholarship Eligibility Criteria

To apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship scheme, candidates must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2020
  • By October 2020, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree). The CSC would not normally fund a second UK Master’s degree. If you are applying for a second UK Master’s degree, you will need to provide justification as to why you wish to undertake this study.
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high income country
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship

The CSC aims to identify talented individuals who have the potential to make a change. We are committed to a policy of equal opportunity and non-discrimination, and encourage applications from a diverse range of candidates.


Each participating UK university will conduct its own recruitment process to select a specified number of candidates to be awarded Commonwealth Shared Scholarships.

Universities must put forward their selected candidates to the CSC by 17 May 2020. The CSC will then confirm that these candidates meet the eligibility criteria for this scheme. Universities will inform candidates of their results by July 2020.

Selection criteria include:

  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • Potential impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country

Number of Scholarships: More than 200 scholarships

Duration of Scholarship: Awards are normally tenable for one-year taught postgraduate courses only.

How to Apply for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship 2020/2021 for Developing Countries

  • All applications must be made through your chosen university. You must check with your chosen university for their specific advice, admission requirements, and rules for applying. Some universities may require you to complete their own admissions application form as well, which may have a separate closing date. You must take the necessary steps to secure admission to your course at the same time as applying for a Shared Scholarship.
  • You must make your application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS), in addition to any other application that you are required to complete by your chosen university.
  • You can apply for more than one course and/or to more than one university, but you may only accept one offer of a Shared Scholarship.
  • The CSC’s online application form is now open.

Application Deadline

The application closing date is expected to end on 14th March 2022 at 16.00 (GMT).

Join Our Whatsapp Group for Scholarship Updates

If you want to be getting our scholarship update, join our whatsaApp group.

How the group works

  • The group is locked for only admin to be posting
  • Information will be posted to the group not more than 4 times a week
You May Also Like